Show all articles in this guide
How to Securely Wipe Your Mobile Device

Securely Wipe Your Mobile Device

If your phone or mobile device has been stolen, you can securely wipe all data contained on it to reduce the risk of your sensitive data falling into the wrong hands. This procedure is applicable to all iPhone, iPad, Android-based, and Windows phone devices which have been configured to receive email from the Hosted Desktop Exchnage via ActiveSync. This process is all done via Outlook Web Access.

This procedure will not work with any Blackberry device; if you have a Blackberry device that you wish to have securely wiped, please send an email to Hosted Desktop by clicking the blue HDUK button below. support@hosteddesktopuk.co.uk

Please Note: This process will erase ALL data, including telephone numbers, contacts, emails, notes, photographs, and applications from your mobile device and will return it to ‘Factory Settings’. This process is NON-REVERSIBLE and does NOT create any form of backup.

1 - Log into Outlook Web Access via your usual route (https://hdcloud.co.uk/owa/).

2 - Enter your full email address and email password, then click ‘Sign In’.

3 - Within your Outlook Web Access view, click ‘Options’ and then select ‘See All Options…’.

4 - Click ‘Phone’.

5 - Select the phone or mobile device you wish to wipe, then click ‘Wipe Device’.

6 - Verify that you have the correct device.

WARNING: This step will erase ALL data, including telephone numbers, contacts, emails, notes, photographs, and applications from your mobile device and will return it to ‘Factory Settings’. This process is NON-REVERSIBLE and does NOT create any form of backup. Ensure that you have selected the correct device before proceeding.

7 - Select the device again, and click the ‘X’ as shown below to remove that device permenantly from Exchange.

8 - Click ‘Yes’.

9 - Click ‘Sign Out’.